Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

You have a 1-Year-Old and endless questions?
Welcome! Join the group to learn, laugh and stay on track with your 1-year-old's growth and development.

need help
pamelariley posted:
hi my name is pamela i am new to the parenting stage. my son is one and will be turning two on the 28th of this month, but i can't seem to understand at this stage in his life that he has those moments where he cries for no reason and i don't know why. when he does this i checked to see if he needs to be changed but he will be dry then i will ask him if he is hungry he will tell me no. what could he possibly be crying about if he is not wet, hungry, or sleepy. can anyone help me with this problem because it happens at home and when we are out having family time.

cheeezie25 responded:
At this stage of life, being wet, hungry or sleepy is not the only stuff that irritates them. He may want a certain thing, and if you don't give it to him, he will throw a fit. They call it the terrible twos for a reason. How is he communicating? Does he point to things he wants or use language or gestures to communicate his needs? Speech and language delays can be a source of frustration. I have my son in some therapy to help with his language skills (he understands everything but is not speaking yet... we are pretty sure it stems from some residual low muscle tone issues). They are starting to teach him some signs to ease his frustrations while he learns to speak verbally. You may also want to post on the two year old board about this, given that he is so close to being two... those moms might have more advice.

sarahaguirre responded: