Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

You have a 1-Year-Old and endless questions?
Welcome! Join the group to learn, laugh and stay on track with your 1-year-old's growth and development.

New foster parent with a 16 month old
fiannakyn posted:
Hi My husband and I recently were licensed to foster, and we do NOT have any children already. Well we got THE CALL today for a 16 month old boy. So expect my questions from here on out cause I have zero experience!

I am assuming he's not potty trained and probably still in a crib, and probably walking. I'll know more when I pick him up at the shelter later today.

any emergancy advice?

orin34 responded:
oh wow............ you are amazing for taking the little guy in. As a teacher I have seen many foster children go in and out of my classrooms.
Remember that you will probably be given very limited information about this child's background. Children typically don't get taken away because of trivial disputes so there is almost always some sort of underlying trauma in addition to the fact that they were taken away from their mommy or daddy.
You never know how long a foster child will be in your care, the main thing is that you make them feel welcome and safe. Your little one will lap up all the love and attention I am sure, but if you do get an older one down the road.... generally they tend to treat kindness and love with a degree of suspicion and likely will be withdrawn and NOT want to get to know you better (if they have been in several different homes previous to yours), they do this simply because they don't want to get "attached" to someone when they will most likely be moved to another foster home again.
lol.......... that was probably more information then you wanted. Good luck with the little guy!

Amelia_WebMD_Staff responded:
Congratulations and how are things going?

Please keep us posted!!
Amelia

fiannakyn replied to Amelia_WebMD_Staff's response:
we survived our first week!