Skip to content

Announcements

You have a 1-Year-Old and endless questions?
Welcome! Join the group to learn, laugh and stay on track with your 1-year-old's growth and development.

Day Care
orin34 posted:
My husband and I have been researching day cares this last week since I want to start substituting and he just picked up a second job.
The day care we found is nice because she is willing to work with us. It is five minutes from our house and being a substitute teacher I might not be working every day so she was willing to do "drop in". We will pay $35 a day for four days or less or $30 a day if we do the whole week. She is also letting me pay at the end of the week (since I won't know my schedule) instead of the beginning. It includes breakfast, lunch, and two snacks. She also had "lesson plans" every month copied for parents (they do fun activities like gingerbread ornaments, ect). And she is Licensed with a clean record and great reviews.

I was SHOCKED by the other day cares in our area. They wouldn't do drop ins. They were EXPENSIVE (I even looked at church ones.... thinking they would be willing to help people out and offer lower rates..... ummmm... no.... they were more expensive than anyone). And other day cares expected us to pay them when the child wouldn't be attending (christmas break? when the day care itself isn't even open? are you kidding me?). And others simply refused to take us because our schedule was so uncertain.
It ran down to this:
The church ones were about $1000,
An actual childcare center like kindercare: $900 (no matter how many days he actually shows up)
Home day cares: least expensive but unwilling to do drop ins and again, you had to pay every day no matter what days the kid isn't there. These ran about $600-700.
Ours works out to $500 a month full time (GREAT deal for our area). And the woman is an ex teacher herself so she really understand of my schedule.