Skip to content
Help! Two year old always has the urge to pee
An_222832 posted:
Hello Everyone,

My two year old was recently potty trained and has been doing really well with it. However, over the last couple of days, he tells me he needs to go to the potty every 10 minutes or so. He'll sit down, but either he won't pee at all or he'll only pee a drop or two. We're thinking he has a UTI or bladder infection, but he doesn't have any other symptoms (no fever, no belly pain or pain while urinating).

Any ideas?

Thanks!

magsnemma responded:
Not saying it's not a UTI or bladder infection because I have zero experience with that. BUT, I can offer advise on a possible alternative. My DD loves to tell me that she has to pee or poop because I will drop what I'm doing to take her. She does it a lot to get my attention. I don't know if that's what's going on with you guys, but that's a common experience in my house. We also have lots of false alarms when it's time to poop. I can tell she needs to but isn't quite ready yet. It's like a warning system. :)
Ali (34) DH (34) DD (11/08) Emma (8 year-old lab)

NewMamma2Be replied to magsnemma's response:
I think you may have hit it right on the nose! When DS sits on the potty, he loves to play around and make a big deal of it. He may just be trying to get some extra attention. The little stinker! :p

Thank you!!

earleyml1012 responded: