Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
My almost 2 year is still in MY bed! Help!!!
An_242000 posted:
Hi everyone! I am new to this blog and being a Mommy to a 21 month old. She is a very determined little girl, to say the least, and has a bit of a temper. She started off in her crib, in my room, and that one night when she had fever I let her sleep w/ me....never the same since. Any suggestions???
FirstPrevious12NextLast

jlynnpaine responded:
Is her crib still in your room? I would just start putting her in the crib at bedtime. She may cry and be upset, but you're the mom. You lay down the law and can't let her dictate how things are run. If it was me, I would let her cry for an allotted period of time (say 10 minutes), then go in and rub her back (don't pick her up!) until she is calm. Don't talk to her or interact with her. If she will not lay down, I would tell her that if she doesn't lay down, you're going out. So get her to lay down, rub her back for a minute to get her calm, then turn around and walk out. Give it 15 minutes the next time. If she's still crying, go back in and repeat the cycle. Do this for as long as you need to until she falls asleep, extending the time before you go back in each time. It may take a week or so, but then she should be used to it and should go to sleep easier. Whatever you do, do NOT cave. If you do, then she'll learn that she can control you by screaming and you'll be facing a much harder battle. I know it's hard, but she will be fine and you will both be much better off by having her learn to sleep in her own bed. Good luck!
Jodi (27) DH (24) Shaelynn (2)

QTpie2009 replied to jlynnpaine's response: