Skip to content
Potty training tips
blueeyebaby posted:
Hello ladies, This is my first time posting here but since I got so much good help from the trying to conceive boards I thought I would try here for my potty training issues. My DS is just over 3 years old. We have been doing some potty training since last spring. Occasionally he would go on the potty but typically in his diaper. I wasn't too worried since he was young and a boy (heard boys take longer). Then last november he started going potty a lot more. The week before christmas (12/19) he woke up dry and stayed dry most of the day with maybe one accident in his pull ups in the evening. Again the same on 12/20. We did some running around town on 12/21 and had a playdate at a friend's house in which he went in his diaper the whole time. I wasn't too surprised since he was out of the norm (i am a stay at home mom to him and his little sis (18 mo).). 12/22 he was back to going on the potty and the same for 12/23 We headed out of town on 12/23 and I expected to for him to go in his pull up on the trip and most of christmas being at the in-laws and with so many people around but he did great. Barely any wet pull ups the whole trip there and most all of the holiday. (He did have an ear infection where we started meds just before christmas and it took two different meds to take care of the problem) Again trip home went good with him telling us and even a day or two back home. But then he just regressed. I can barely get him to tell me now when he has to go. Although if it is an inconvient time for me like first thing in the morning yelling he needs to "put water in the potty", time outs, nap time, or even out shopping, he tells me just fine. But playing, or any other time he will just go in his diaper. I am getting to my wits end. I know he knows when he needs to go he just chooses not to tell me and go in his diaper. I read someone else say they started doing time outs when their child would do that since they kn