Skip to content
O/T What happens if we both die?
QTpie2009 posted:
Hi everyone,
My husband and I are going on vacation to Florida in June. My parents and my husband's mom are taking turns keeping our son while we are gone. Of course I started thinking what if something happened to the both of us... where would DS go? We do not have a will. It is hard for my husband and I to even meet during business hours to go see an attorney because I work 1st shift and he works 2nd shift. I have already talked to my parents about the situation and they agreed to be the guardians to DS. If I typed something up and both my husband and I signed it, would it fly in court?

magsnemma responded:
Even if you don't do it in time for your vacation in June, it's a good idea to have one. I don't know if a signed piece of paper would hold up in court, it might hold more weight if it were notarized. But I'm not a lawyer, so I really have no idea. Either way, a will declares your intentions if something should happen and could prevent potential legal questions regarding your DS. Also, you don't have to go at the same time to make/sign a will do you?
Ali (34) DH (35) DD (3)

QTpie2009 replied to magsnemma's response:
I guess I just assumed you would both have to be there to sign, but maybe not. I'll check into it.

QTpie2009 replied to QTpie2009's response:
Ok I just called an attorney's office and we don't have to be there at the same time to sign. They took some info from me and the attorney is going to call me back.

magsnemma replied to QTpie2009's response:
Wow, that was fast. Hopefully it's a fairly painless process. DH and I did one, but since he's military, we did it through base legal. I have no frame of reference for "regular" people.

Oh, and I hope you guys have a lot of fun on your vacation!
Ali (34) DH (35) DD (3)

lenono97 responded: