Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
my 9month old can't sit up
kristinedenise posted:
my son will be nine months old on the 21st and he can't sit alone....he dosn't even try! He was six weeks premature....what could be keeping him from sitting up by himself?

holly654321 responded:
Ok I dont mean to sound wierd btu I work in early intervention and my degree is in special needs but I am in no way saying that this means that your lo has a problem :pbpt: is he meeting other developmental milestones? does he have floor time? thesea re all important ?? that u need to looka t if the answerss are no then u need to talk to ur pedi for some more advice...hth:)

ambern99 responded:
From what I have read doctors base a premature baby's developmental milestones off their EDD rather then their actual date of birth. So your son's development should be around that of a 7.5 month old instead of a 9 month old. So right now you shouldn't worry too much and if you start working with him on strengthening his muscles he'll probably start sitting up in no time. But you should also talk to the doctor so they will be aware of your concerns. www.babycenter.com/0_milestone-chart-7-to-12-months_1496587.bc www.ehow.com/how_2205434_teach-baby-sit-up.html

x822x responded: