Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Poll: Homework (apo 4/5)
mrswhitecastle posted:
I posted this on the 4/5 board, but was hoping to get some input here, too.

Emily is in her third week of kindergarten, and she came home with 3 sheets of homework today. I was surprised they started homework this early!

1. Does DC have homework?
2. Who helps with the homework?
3. When does DC do homework?
4. Where does DC do homework?
5. Any helpful hints to a newbie?

Lainey_WebMD_Staff responded:
Hello MrsWhiteCastle,

Three sheets sounds normal to me and begins by the second week of school. Our children begin homework right after they get home at the kitchen table by themselves. It is much easier to have a clear set time for homework. Once the homework is complete we go over it with our children.

baby1at35 responded:
They only have monthly homework in kindergarten here. (Really the sight word sheets for the month are homework ).

I am new to it all as well so can't offer much advice!

baby1at35 replied to baby1at35's response:
Well I guess I was wrong. We have homework 3 times a week picked from a monthly list. Jeepers. Plus the sight words every month.
Boy have times changed. I never had homework until the 3rd grade.
I am thinking we will do it after some tv time/dinner. He needs some time to calm a bit. Plus most of the assignments can be done on the weekends as well. Nothing too major.

fcl responded:
1. Does DC have homework?

Yes, every night since starting school.

2. Who helps with the homework?

Either me or my husband.

3. When does DC do homework?

Straight after getting home.

4. Where does DC do homework?

At the living room table or, if that's not convenient, in my office.

5. Any helpful hints to a newbie?