Skip to content
Daughter 9 years starting puberty but very quickly- spotting and breast buds
LittleFish1 posted:
Hi Everyone,
I'm new to any kind of online forums but was looking for some input about my 9 year old daughter. My daughter is 9 and will be 10 in about a month. She spotted about 2 months ago (very little)with no signs of breast buds, hormonal changes/emotion. She has not developed any pubic hair any where.

She's not spotted since but now VERY suddenly has breast buds have appeared and they are very large. They are over a quarter in size. She has inner thigh cramps and lower leg cramps. From what I've read, everyone is different with how they develop. I've been on dozens of online forums and the majority seems to say that pubic/breast buds and then period later that year or two. I've also read that a period should start usually when the girl reaches around 100 pounds. My daughter is only 56 pounds in 4th grade and is the size of a 2nd grader. Shes very lean and muscular. She is also, for the most part, a vegetarian.

So I'm looking to advice if its possible for my daughter to start her period with being so small? Also some advice on when to buy her a bra? Shes a size 6 and from what I can tell, we're going to have trouble finding bras that fit her? Any other Moms out there with tiny daughters who started their period early? It seems as if she's been suddenly hit by a gigantic hormonal brick wall. Unexpected, I thought it would be more gradual. Anyone else have it happen very fast to them too?

Extra info.. I started my period when I was 13 and it was very sudden, heavy, and I developed very very quickly. There was no waiting for development when I hit puberty. My husbands family started at 12 and they are very small boned. I am by no means a small framed person. I'm tall, big and strong. lol. I had a hard time getting though my own puberty as I didn't have any support at all with my own mom. I want to get it "right" with my own daughter. ;oD