Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Get the support and information you need for your behavior, development and health related questions.

For more information:
Health and Parenting Health Center
Raising fit Kids

Your View on Homeschooling?
Lainey_WebMD_Staff posted:
Hello parents,

Many of our parents are deciding the best education is for their children. Some parents support public/private schools, while others prefer homeschooling.

Do you plan to home school?

Do you plan to use a public/private school?

seeit2 responded:
I went to public school and got a great education. That being said, my DD has a severe food allergy and some pretty steep social anxiety issues, so I am keeping an open mind about homeschooling. She starts K in the fall and I intend to send her and see how it goes. But I'm a certified teacher, so the homeschooling does not concern me as far as whether or not I can do it. I think it might be a lot of fun.

phoenix31674 responded:
DD starts Kindergarten in 2012. Since I don't know that there is an English preschool here or know if a German one is close to where we are going to be living and given the fact we are moving back to the US sometime between January and April 2012, I will likely do some sort of home preschool for a few hours a day just to provide more structure than the informal teaching I do now just to get her used to some sort of structure.

We're moving to San Diego and have looked at where to live based on home costs and schools - though California is such a budget mess that even going to one of the better schools might not be all that good by the time we get there. But I'm not going to sweat Kindergarten too much. We'll likely only be there for 3 years, we'll probably just leave her in public school and I can always supplement at home if i don't think it's covering what it should.