Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Get the support and information you need for your behavior, development and health related questions.

For more information:
Health and Parenting Health Center
Raising fit Kids

Potty Training Helpers
Laura Jana, MD posted:
Stocking the medicine cabinet, setting up the nursery, getting ready for potty training... As a doctor, I'm frequently asked to share my thoughts on what parents need to buy to be properly prepared. I usually start by explaining that "need" is a strong word, since there are really very few parenting products that you'll truly need (on the same level as, say, oxygen or water). I believe that there are useful and creative products that can help make the day-to-day tasks of parenting significantly easier, safer, and even just plain fun. Potty training tools are no exception. So I want to share a few of my own product preferences.

? Potty Seats: Pint-sized potty chairs and rings are popular for a reason. Some parents find that potty chairs allow children easier access and an added measure of independence. Other parents prefer the potty rings that can be placed on adult toilets, as they eliminate the extra handling of pee and poop that's required with potty chairs. I have found it useful to have one of each.

Both potty chairs and potty rings come in kid-friendly colors, shapes, and sizes -- features which I would not discount, because engaging a child's interest is a major component of potty training success. It goes without saying that you should always remember the importance of good bathroom hygiene whenever you or your child use, touch, or otherwise handle any potty chair or ring.