Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Get the support and information you need for your behavior, development and health related questions.

For more information:
Health and Parenting Health Center
Raising fit Kids

Includes Expert Content
Teen Maturing
Anon_228963 posted:
I have a 14 year old Bonus Daughter that I fear is not maturing at a healthy rate. Since I am new to the parenting thing I decided to go to the experts! She brings and sleeps with a stuffed animal when she is here and watches cartoons and Disney programs that seem geared toward a younger audience. She has random outbursts when watching TV similiar to much younger children. She has to be reminded daily to take a daily vitamin, not to take a 45 minute shower, to turn off a light when she leaves a room and to make up her bed. If she sees a toddler's toy she often wants to play with it or ride on it. Yesterday she walked around with a sticker from a container on her face for no apprant reason. I have an 11 year old nephew and a 16 year old Bonus son that seemed to outgrow this type of behavior years ago. I was under the impression that girls matured faster than boys. Feedback on teen maturing would be so helpful!!!!!!!!!!

Boyzmomee responded:
I see no problem sleeping with a stuffed animal, It's typical for a teen to need reminders to take a daily vitamin, to turn off the lights and to make her bed. It's also typical for a teen to take long showers.

What do her "random" outbursts look like? How does she "play" with toddler toys?

Does she have friends her own age? Does she particiapte in social activities with kids her own age? Does she live with her mother most of the time? How recent was the divorce?

Roy Benaroch, MD replied to Boyzmomee's response: