Skip to content

Announcements

Get the support and information you need for your behavior, development and health related questions.

For more information:
Health and Parenting Health Center
Raising fit Kids

15 month old On Strike
blueeyedbentley posted:
Hello, I am new to this. I have been Breastfeeding for 15 months now. I would pump but wether it was in a sippy or bottle he refused since 4 months.until now i thought i was doing the right thing. breastfeeding is healthy? We went to my sons peditrition for his 15 month well child and found he still only weighs 21.4 as he did at his 12month well child. he was sick last month with the hands foot mouth disease and didnt eat for a week due to the blisters in his mouth. I also started a full time job and I was advised to stop breastfeeding that way he will only learn to take whole milk. This has been since friday. we have been down this road before and i could only watch my baby cry for one night. i feel like hes in agony due to he cant nurse and now hes on a strike. hes not even eating his foods now
Worried mommy

kjsjks_sept responded:
I can understand your concerns, my youngest son was and still is a strong willed child. My suggestion to you, considering the fact he has not gained weight, would be to focus on improvement with foods at this point. Don't change too much around for him all at once; to go from breastfeeding to not at all might be too much of a shock to him. Perhaps first get some better eating in order for more calories while offering a sippy cup while eating.

Did you start your job already? I assume from your post yes, so consider that this too has made a big change in his life. Tackle the changes one at a time and take your time with it.

And I don't think children gain much weight as it is between year 1 and 2, so I would only be concerned if you feel like he is not getting the proper nutrition.