Skip to content

Announcements

Parents of Tweens and Teens - Welcome to your home!

Bundles of hormones, emotions, and insecurities. Rebellion, dating, school problems, peer and societal pressures, its our job to see these kids to adulthood. Get the support you need here!

Teen Boys' Health
Teen Girls' Health
Teen Health Center
13 year old boy with diaper fascinations
sutoparent posted:
I've been raising my nephew since he was 11 and since January 2009 he has been demonstrating a strange fascination with diapers. Recently, he purchased adult diapers on his own, used them and hid them in his room. He accidentally left one in his bathroom and that's how I discovered the severity of his interest. I am concerned about this as I don't want this to be a life long issue for him.

Has anyone heard about this before? What is it called? Is there help available? All sincere/serious responses welcome. Thank you.
FirstPrevious12NextLast

momuv4girls responded:
I think it would be a good idea to have him seen by a child psychologist.

Besides the diaper issue (which at his age is unusual), he may have problems understanding/coping with his homelife and whatever has happened up till now.

A good child psychologist can work with him and teach him coping skills and give you an idea about his over-all mental health.

Take care,
-Kathleen

sutoparent replied to momuv4girls's response:
We're actually seeing a child pshchologist and have another meeting with him this week where we will find out the results of ADD/ADHD testing recently completed. The catalyst for seeking help though was the diaper fascination. I've asked my nephew if he has ever been touched inappropriately or sexually abused. He says he has not.

His home life before coming to live with us was tumultous. Anytime my sister would have drama he would be shipped off. When she worked construction, he spent most of his time with sitters.