Skip to content

Announcements

Visit the WebMD Parkinson's Health Center for information about symptoms, types, diagnosis, treatment and care.
Includes Expert Content
HYdrogen Peroxide to help Parkiinsons
cougar1234 posted:
I just read an article from a book called "One minute a day" where you take a combination of a few drops of 35 % Hyd peroxide ad water to a 6-8 oz of water 3 times a day to help cure Parkinsons - is this feasible?

Has anyone tried this?

DUKE MEDICINE
Mark A Stacy, MD responded:
Hi, cougar1234
I have reviewed some of the videos delivered to my browser after typing in "one minute a day." As a clinical researcher, I am extremely skeptical of any intervention making these claims, and this one is not likely feasible. Hydrogen peroxide is rapidly metabolized to water (H2O) and oxygen (O2), and therefore consumption of a small amount is not likely even measurable. In this situation 2-3 drops in 8 ounces of water is probably negligible - so as safe as the water alone. (I suspect it would not even bleach your hair, but do not recommend that as a test!)

Sadly, many patients with neurological disease, fall victim of hopes for a cure - that may reach a point of desperation.

I appreciate you allowing me to say for the record:

"I believe it is unconscionable for anyone to prey on the desperate hopes of someone with an illness for the purpose of profit."

If anyone offers these promises. Ask them how they have proven the product works. If they do not say through 2 double blind placebo controlled trials, and FDA or EMA approval, the product has not been assessed for safety and efficacy by government regulatory agencies.

cougar1234 replied to Mark A Stacy, MD's response:
Thanks for your reply. Is there any natural remedies out there which would help me ? I am getting tired of taking 6 different meds every 3 hrs every day

managingwell replied to cougar1234's response: