Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Visit the WebMD Parkinson's Health Center for information about symptoms, types, diagnosis, treatment and care.
Includes Expert Content
treatment variation
An_240058 posted:

I am a 62 year old professional female and have been married to an orthopaedic surgeon for 20 years I was diagnosed with Parkinsons 10 years ago and was managed very well for the last 8 plus years on medication This allowed me to work as an optometrist and function normally Early this year my husbands attitude changed and he went around telling my friends and family that we were having problems He also went and told my neurologist that I was delusional and paranoid and hallucinating .He was bringing home a female at night and having sex with her and convinced me I was imagining this He also tried to have me admitted to a mental hospital.Luckily for me the psychiatrist did not believe him because the neurologist had already begun reducing my dose of Requip.I had also realised he was trying to set me up.
Unfortunately my neurologist reduced my dose of 16 mg of requip to zero in 2 weeks I live in London but spend a lot of time in the USA and had to see a neurologist there who put me back on 4 mg of Requip again as she said I had gone into shock.When I got back to London they stopped the Requip again
I am now in S Africa visiting my dad and have been having problems again .I went to see the professor of the local medical school and he has put me back on 4 mg of RequipXL
I know that my neurologist in London is not going to give me a Rx and am contemplating asking for a second opinion My neurologist has never asked me if I was having any symptoms and has never listened to me when I said that I was not
What should I do

JustMe284 responded:
What are the current symptoms that are bothering you?

DUKE MEDICINE
Mark A Stacy, MD responded:
Dear An_240058,