Skip to content

Announcements

The Pet Health Community and Pet Health Center are NOT substitutes for a vet visit. Contact a vet in an emergency! | Dog Conditions A-Z | Dog Symptoms A-Z | Cat Conditions A-Z | Cat Symptoms A-Z

Remember Your Beloved Pet
Includes Expert Content
Agressive Shih Tzu
shaanaya posted:
So I have a male 5 year old shih tzu and I had some problems with his agression towards other people. When he was about 1 year old I left him with my parents to go away to college after I graduated I returned home. Within 1 year of returning home he has bit my nephew, mother, boyfriend, cousin, uncle and I don't know what else to do. Oh he had a slipped disc July 2010 and now has an year infection. What do you suggest I do to stop this. I try to socialize him but he growls and barks at every visitor

Rohvannyn responded:
Hm... interesting. First, if he isn't neutered, get that done. The testosterone can lead to aggression. Then, make sure he doesn't have any medical issues. He could be a 'fear biter' because of a painful experience due to the slipped disc. Other than that, perhaps some intensive training, such as with an obedience trainer... all this costs money though.

There are a lot of resources available about agression online, and much depends on figuring out the root cause of the biting. Does he act frightened? Is he trying to establish dominance? Does he bite hard, or just nips? What circumstances is he comfortable in? The ear infection could even be causing it... maybe it hurts when people pet him and he doesn't want that to happen again.

In any case, the best thing to do (if you can) is to get a vet involved to rule out physical causes, and for advice on behavior modification.

AMERICAN VETERINARY MEDICAL ASSOCIATION
Bonnie Beaver, BS, DVM, MS responded: