Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Told I have PCOS by endocrinologist but have regular periods
WitsEndHI posted:
Hello!
I'm new to this forum and I apologize that I have not had time to read through many of the posts, but have done research in the past and read some posts. I haven't seen anyone with a similar issue but I'm sure they are out there.

I'm really hoping someone can help b/c I'm so frustrated and confused... I have been trying to figure out what is REALLY wrong with me for years. I'm sick of treating symptoms and don't feel like anyone is really able to get to the root of problems. I admit it has been very difficult to find a good doctor and it doesn't help that I've moved around and change insurance at least once a year (I'm a business consultant).

My main complaint is fatigue (so bad I sometimes feel like I literally can't get out of the bed), body pain, and weight gain. I've gained a lot of weight since my mid-twenties (like 80 lbs). I was about 110 lbs in my early 20s and for last 10 years I can't seem to get under 190 lbs.

Ok so back to why I'm posting to this forum. Doctors have tested me for a thyroid issue for at least 10 years but nothing ever seemed to show up in lab tests. Finally last year I had more tests which resulting in showing signs of hypothyroidism. I was actually relieved because it seemed to be the root cause of all my symptoms (high blood pressure, weight gain, extreme fatigue, pre-diabetic, Pale, dry skin, A puffy face, Muscle aches, tenderness and stiffness (Arthritis), Muscle weakness, Heavier than normal menstrual periods, Depression (been on every type of anti-depressant... Currently I'm on Wellbutrin, Lexapro, Adderall, Lamotrigine, Klonopin... scary isn't it!!!)

I thought finally I can treat one thing which would solve all my problems