Skip to content
Can FISH results differ from final CVS results?
jackandsimone posted:
Hello. I am 36 years old and 13 weeks pregnant. After receiving the news that I was at high risk for chromosonal abnormalities, I made the decision to do the CVS testing. Last week, I received devastating news that according to the preliminary FISH results, my daughter has trisomy 13. I have been devastated and have been barely able to get out of bed since. I'm awaiting the final results and I guess I was looking for a ray of hope. Has anyone heard of a case where the final CVS results differ from the FISH results? My genetic counselor said that it was unlikely but it has happened. I'm pretty sure I will continue the pregnancy at this point no matter what, but I'm afraid that I would be selfish to do so if the baby were to suffer at all.

QueenOfStarWars responded:
Sorry to hear that you are dealing with this

It would be wonderful if the results were incorrect. I'm no doctor, but I've heard they are pretty accurate (from what I've read). Of course, with any test, you want those final results to confirm.

Sending some supportive vibes your way.
Jeannie [Me (37); DH (41); DD 19mos (born at 33 wks on 11/9/2008); EDD 10/18/2010 Pink Team

43Hope responded:
I would definitely wait for final results even if a small ray of hope. But also be assured that you would not be selfish to carry the pg/continue. Remember that God gives life and though we do not know how long any of us will live or why things happen as they do--your knowing and loving this little baby will never be selfish.

I know this may be really hard, but stay strong. I am going to look for a video that I saw on youtube about a family in a similar situation--it may be a serious trigger for tears, but it shows so much love. If I find it, I will post it.

((((HUGS))))
Me (43), DH (43), (mc) DD (9), (3 mc, ectopic), DS(22 mos) (mc); BFP 5/31: EDD 2/8/2011 Yellow Team

43Hope responded: