Skip to content
38, newly single...want a baby
Crys68 posted:
I am a newly single 38 (almost 39)...being single wasn't in the plan but here I am. I want a baby very badly. My questions are...Is there a test my doc can do that will help me better decide if I need to try to have one on my own or If I have time to wait and see if I meet someone special again. I thought I was getting a family but that didn't work out. I don't want to give up my dream of having my own by waiting too long. Can they see if I have eggs and about how many? If I need to, I would try to have one on my own using "purchased" sperm from a bank. Not my perfect choice, but...Leads me to question 2...Has anyone ever purchased sperm to inseminate yourself on your own? Any advice.

Thanks, Chris

kauai2k responded:
Well, I have no experience with sperm banks, so I can't help you there.

But I would wonder if you researched such a place what their protocols would be. Would they test you for health issues or would they expect you to have already done this? I won't know.

I do know that a consult with your OB/Gyn should start the ball rolling for sure.

Good luck.

Tracey0601 responded:
Crys, Good luck with you future choices.. it sucks being a woman when the relationship falls apart and then part of our dream of being a mommy is so cruelly crushed...but you are right! You have choices!

Have your dr measure your FSH levels and estrogen. Also, the Fairfax VA sperm bank is supposed to be one of the best in the states.

good luck!!!

Crys68 responded: