Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
They can't let me go, can they?
Mandy_Smiles posted:
I am 21 weeks along and everyone in my company knows that I am pregnant. I have been working full time with this company for 3+ years. It's no secret that I will need to take maternity leave and my manager has asked here and there how long I will be gone and things like that. She is not the manager I would need to talk to about this so I called the general manager of our company and asked him when I need to let them know when I will be starting my maternity leave and just had a few questions for him about our company policy regarding maternity leave. He said, "Well, you are a really good worker and I hope we can still keep you on board by the time you are done with your maternity leave" because I plan to take the full amount of time that FMLA allows. That sounds like he thinks that he can let me go while I am on maternity leave, right? That is illegal, right!?! In an ideal world I would like to not go back to work, but we just cannot afford it. How should I deal with this? I don't want them to figure out that they can't let me go while I am on maternity leave and try to find a way to let me go now rather than later. Due to the economy our office hasn't met any of our goals in a long time so they could use that against me and use that as their reasoning to fire me probably since I am the only full time sales person. How do I deal with this? I don't love my job, but hey, it's a job and I am glad to have it. Any advice will be greatly appreciated!
Mandy 26, DH 31, Angel Baby @ 13weeks April 2010, EDD 3/27/11, Greenish-yellow team (undecided)

Starla_94 responded:
You CANNOT be fired for being Pregnant.. however they could try to claim your not performing and lay you off as a cover up.. lol but would be hard since he just said you were a good worker and want you back..