Skip to content

Announcements

Congratulations on your BFP! Welcome to YOUR community!

Be sure to check out:

New to the Board with Questions
Cowgirl6598 posted:
So I just found out Sunday I am pregnant. Currently 5 weeks 5 days. I called my Midwifes Office to schedule my first appointment, and they said they usually wait until 10 weeks? Is that normal? Also, How often do you have doctors appointments? Monthly? This is my first time, so i'm a little overwhelmed! Any advice would be great

thebirdisblue87 responded:
Congrats on your pregnancy. I was worried about this when I went to make my first appointment. My doctor waits until 12 weeks. I believe a lot of doctors do this because there is nothing they can do to prevent a m/c.
I actually went to my appointment last Wednesday and I am happy I waited because he did an u/s and we heard the heartbeat. The baby was big enough for us to see all of its limbs and it was moving all over the place.
I know the waiting stinks but just hang in there and if you feel anything is wrong just call and let them know and I would think they would see you at that point.
Good luck!!! That is so exciting.

tlkittycat1968 responded:
In the beginning, you'll have appointments monthly. As you get closer to your due date, they will be every two weeks and then every week.

And waiting until 10 weeks is common from what I hear. Most miscarriages occur during the first trimester and there usually isn't anything that can be done to prevent it. I had my first appointments at 6w but that's because as an "older mother," I was considered high risk.

Taylove11 responded:
Congratulations!