Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Find your due date buddies: February 2012, March 2012, April 2012 and May 2012.

Take a peek inside the womb to see how your baby develops from week to week.

Welcome mommies from 1st Trimester Community (BFP to 13weeks). Your final stop is the 3rd Trimester Community (28w to 40w). Yay!
Sleeping Position
happygirly14 posted:
Hello all, this is my first time positng! i have a question about sleeping positions. First of all I am 17wk2days along, and I always seem to wake up on my back (I start out on my side with a pillow between my knees). Is this bad? I have a pregnancy pillow coming this week, so hopefully that will help. Thanks for your advice!

ClosetRocker responded:
I read in the "What to Expect..." book that if you wake up on your back or stomach just roll over onto your side, no need to fret. I think that being flat on your back for an extended period of time is not good but it should be ok if you accidentally end up on your back. Hell, I slept on my stomach up until the end of my 4th month LOL. My body pillow does help to keep me in one position at night (and it's really comfy too), I don't know how I ever got along without it. GL and H&H 9 months to ya!

da1queen_z responded:
I just asked my OB this on my last visit... she said that is not good to sleep on your back (flat on your back), and if you notice that you have moved to that position, move back to your side.
It puts the weight of the baby on your back and pressure on some nerve she mentioned.

It stinks, because since becoming prego, I am more comfortable sleeping on my back, go figure... ;o)

williamswifey responded: