Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Almost there! Welcome to your third trimester and your community!

Useful Things:

• See what's happening with your baby and your body — right now.
  • Get trusted WebMD information and track your baby's milestones with the WebMD Baby app for iPhone and Android.
Advice on how to sleep in the last couple of weeks
powerbar posted:
Hi,

I'm new to this Exchange, but am hoping I can get some advise. My wife is 36 weeks along with our first baby. Things have been going well, except in the past 3 weeks, she hasn't been unable to sleep b/c the pelvic pain is getting really bad and starting to shoot down her legs.

We've tried every type of pillow, and she wears the maternity belt during the day, but nothing is helping. She compares the feeling to having sciatica.

I'm trying to be the helpful husband, but at this point I don't know what to do to help her. Anyone have tips on how to help manage for the next couple of weeks?

Thanks
Paul

Our Bubu's foot

Our Bubu sucking his thumb

Samantha_77 responded:
Try adding more potassium and calcium to her diet. I was having this same problem and my OB told me to take an extra calcium pill along with my prenatal vitamin, it helped a little bit. I also push a pillow up to my back so I can roll back onto it without actually being on my back. This helped too. Good luck!

hipk427 responded:
same as PP. i have it so bad that i cannot lay in my bed anymore. i sleep in a recliner and have noticed a big difference. tell her to take a warm bath, tylenol and try to sleep on some sort of incline or in a recliner. thats how i manage. HTH

An_216584 responded:
A jacuzzi bath? Time to rent the jacuzzi suite at the local hotel-hot tubs of course are too warm but a jacuzzi is nice.

Also, getting on all fours an doing dromedary droops was recommended by What to Expect when You are Expecting (I haven't seen a recent copy)

But, really, it is just prep for no sleep for the next 18 years.