Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Almost there! Welcome to your third trimester and your community!

Useful Things:

• See what's happening with your baby and your body — right now.
  • Get trusted WebMD information and track your baby's milestones with the WebMD Baby app for iPhone and Android.
Should I be more frightened?
oboingo76 posted:
I am 39 weeks 4 days today - waiting to have this baby any minute (no signs of labor yet though). I feel like I should be more nervous and frightened of labor and delivery. I'm a first time mom - I've never done this before. I am not scared of the horrific pain I'm about to endure. Is it just because I'm too ignorant to know what is going to hit me? LOL!

The only worries I have are about my baby getting here safely and that nothing will go wrong for her. I even think about how scary it probably is for them to be pushed out all of a sudden into this new, bright, dry, cold environment.

It just seems like usually moms about to do this are much more frightened about the delivery process and I'm just not. Am I alone in this? I've been waiting several weeks for the fear to kick in but it hasn't yet.

hgreenwood7058 responded:
Not alone. While labor sucks (from what I hear and know through reading) I am not dwelling how much its going to hurt. I just can't wait to meet my lil man. I am 32 weeks2days. I think I am more anxious waiting for him to come than anything lol. Its going to hurt obviously but atleast we get something great at the end. Oh and prefer not to have my water break at work since I sit at a desk and theres carpet everywhere lol.

Lysana responded: