Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Attention: The information provided in this forum is intended for educational purposes only, and is not a substitute for individual professional advice, diagnosis, or treatment.
Understanding and Tending to Your Loneliness
Leslie Becker-Phelps, PhD posted:
Over the course of my career as a therapist, I have talked for tens of thousands of hours with people about a wide variety of emotional struggles. Of all the problems presented to me, one of the most deeply painful emotions discussed is loneliness. This is especially true when you consider the deep kind of loneliness that is a sense of feeling essentially different and alone in the world (even among friends). My heart hurts for them when I listen to their pain.

What about you? Do you struggle with this kind of loneliness? If so, what do you find is most helpful for you? Do you know people who struggle with this? What do you do to try to help?

If you would like to read more in detail about this topic in my The Art of Relationships blog, click here .

Dr. Becker-Phelps's discussions and her responses in those discussions are for general educational purposes only. If you need help for an emotional or behavioral problem, please seek the assistance of a psychologist or other qualified mental health professional.

smiley2009 responded:
Coming to this site has helped me deal with my issue with my husband's cheating. I felt a deep sense of loneliness because I couldn't share this with family and friends. I wanted to yell to the world that I was suffering yet again with his betrayal. My voice was silenced until I found this site.
The truth is, I became a member in 2009 when he cheated the first time. I posted on here, and the advice helped. History repeated itself and I'm came back to a community that has welcomed me and shown great wisdom.