Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Attention: The information provided in this forum is intended for educational purposes only, and is not a substitute for individual professional advice, diagnosis, or treatment.
Includes Expert Content
Enough, or too much?
dfromspencer posted:
I have been wrestling with this for many years now, when is it enough Enough? Or, when does romance become too much romance?

I will admit it, i was young when i married. I didn't really know what romance in a relationship should be? Or even how to go about it? Well, after my divorce i started looking for the answer. I watched romantic movies, (Titanic/Avatar fight for first place) i read books, even magazines like Red Book for an example?! I talked to friends, and family about it, i went all out on finding what romance in a marriage, or any relationship was all about?

Twice thereafter, i went "too far" in my relationships with women. Oh yes, they told me that!!! Too far? Well, how much is too far? I would take them on dates to diner and a romantic movie, or out to a park for a picnic? Too many scenarios to talk about here! I went all out, when they would come to spend the night i had candles lit everywhere, flowers scattered throughout my apartment. I made them a special meal, and we would usually spend some time watching a movie, cuddling on the couch. And then, well, you know?! And, if they should want a more stable relationship, i would do little things for them all the time. Things like draw a nice hot bath for them when they complained of a hard, long day?! Give them a nice long massage after, and then make a real nice dinner for them. I wouldn't even let them help with the dishes. It was a take yourself to the living room, pour yourself a small glass of wine, and settle on the couch, and i will be there momentarily.