Skip to content

Announcements

Attention: The information provided in this forum is intended for educational purposes only, and is not a substitute for individual professional advice, diagnosis, or treatment.
Includes Expert Content
Is my boyfriend for real?
poohbear5270 posted:
I am new to the whole internet dating thing and am worried about a current situation, but first I need to give you a short background. I just got burned by scam on a website where a man started writing to me posing as a US soldier serving in Kosovo. He wrote the most beautiful letters and said he loved me and even was scheduled to come see me(he said), but through the help of my neighbors I found out the email address for his leave was nothing but a big internet scam and he was writing to a bunch of women. Fastforward a few weeks. I've now met a man through a paid dating site. We've conversed only by email, although he has offered to talk on webcam, but I don't have one. He said he hasn't called me yet because he wants to surprise me. He just sent me a dozen roses, a teddy bear, a box of chocolate covered cherries and a heart box of chocolates for Valentine's Day. I forgot to mention I'm in Oregon and he's in Brooklyn, NY. Now he writes to me and says he has to go to Africa on business for 2-3 months and he's not sure if he'll have internet access or not, but he did buy a laptop just in case.

My question is: Is this man for real or am I being scammed again? He said he loves me and to trust him and he wants to be together for the long haul. He is supposed to be calling me today before he leaves. I am scared of getting my heart broken again. What does anyone think?

cjh1203 responded:
You said you met this guy through a paid dating site -- are you sure it's a reputable site? Do people just sign up, or do you answer a lot of questions about yourself and what you're looking for?