Skip to content

Announcements

Attention: The information provided in this forum is intended for educational purposes only, and is not a substitute for individual professional advice, diagnosis, or treatment.
Must you love your parents to be a good person?
Leslie Becker-Phelps, PhD posted:
With Mother's Day fast approaching, I thought it might be helpful for people whose relationships with their mothers are strained to read, think, and share about this. As a psychologist, I have treated many people who are in this situation. It hurts; because all people crave a good relationship with their parents, and because not having one just feels wrong.

When people don't like being around their parents, they often feel guilty about it. They know that they want to do their part as a child and help out Mom or Dad. But they also harbor secret feelings of preferring to be doing something else.

The short response to this dilemma is, "relax." Satisfying your duty does not require that you like or love your parents. Even the Ten Commandments direct you to "honor" your father and mother; not to love them. So being a good person all about how you treat them, not how you feel about them.

If you're sweating out Mother's Day, there are innumerable ways for you to do your duty and honor her — on this day and year 'round. Listen patiently to her advice. Do not interfere in her affairs with others. Do not sit in her favorite chair. The list goes on.

Regardless of the Hallmark ads every spring, most parent-child relationships are far less than perfect. No matter your relationship with your mother, you can live your life—and through each Mother's Day —with your integrity intact.

These are my thoughts on the matter—what are your thoughts and experiences?

Read in more detail about this topic in my post on The Art of Relationships blog.

Chris_WebMD_Staff responded:
I love this topic Dr. Becker-Phelps!