Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Attention: The information provided in this forum is intended for educational purposes only, and is not a substitute for individual professional advice, diagnosis, or treatment.
Ex-girlfriend that doesn't go away!!
emcd87 posted:
This is my first time using any kind of forum to look for some answers. I do believe I will get good advise here.
So, I am in a complicated relationship with my ex boyfriend at the moment. We both want to be together but his ex-girlfriend does not want to go away! She once tried to commit suicide by OD on sleeping pills...I believe they were together at the time (we had broken up.) She basically told him that she tried to kill herself because he was going to break-up with her. He felt really bad and decided to stay with her. Now neither of them is happy with the "relationship" they have. He knows he doesn't want to be with her and she knows she is not happy. He has tried everything to end the relationship many times. He has treated her as bad as he could, explained to her that he does not want to be with her anymore, asked her how she can be with someone who does not make her happy and is not happy being with her....every trick in the book...but she starts crying, becomes hysterical and reverts back to reminding him of what she was going to do if he left her. I think she is obsessed and needs help. This is really taking a toll on his life and emotions. He feels trapped because if she does something stupid, he doesn't want to feel responsible. We have known each other for 6 years and are very close. I care a lot for him as he does for me. I want to help him find a solution because I can see that he is not as happy and full of life as he used to be.
Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thanks beforehand!

darlyn05 responded:
[TRIGGER] How old are you and your ex-BF? Are you certain he is being honest about not wanting to be with his ex/current GF?