Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Attention: The information provided in this forum is intended for educational purposes only, and is not a substitute for individual professional advice, diagnosis, or treatment.
Includes Expert Content
Married 20 years to drug addict
kayefly1 posted:
I am a HR Manager as well as a bookkeeper good job ,nice home and then ther is my 54 year old husband who has been a crack and meth addict for years. He worked out of town most of the time so it was years ,before I realized he had a problem. No matter how angry or sad I get he doesn't care, I thought about leaving but have nowhere to go, and in sc I cant make him move so after a binge he is allowed to come home to sleep eat take what money or valuables we have to sell so he can go back to work to make more money for his drugs. I make the mortgage, take care of my vehicles, take care of the house and yard and pretend Everything is good when family is around. I'm tired ,I don't know where to go or what to do. I just want to go to bed and not get up anymore!

Leslie Becker-Phelps, PhD responded:
This sounds terrible; and I feel so bad for what you are going through. But I have so many questions for you.

Are you sure that he can come back in? Have you checked with an attorney?

Why not divorce him? I can't imagine that he could still come back then. And, it would give you a chance to move on.

Can he come back because you are married or because he owns the house? If it's the latter, you definitely should consider moving. Stay close to family or friends, but begin to establish a happier life for yourself.

Finally, what do family and friends (who know more than we do) have to say about this and what do they advise? You sound seriously depressed (unless this is just a moment of venting) and should consider seeking therapy - a therapist can help you walk through all of this step-by-step while helping you manage emotionally.

An_247675 responded: