Skip to content

Announcements

Attention: The information provided in this forum is intended for educational purposes only, and is not a substitute for individual professional advice, diagnosis, or treatment.
Includes Expert Content
LOOKING TO START A NEW RELATIONSHIP WHERE DO I START?
kisha252 posted:
WELL IM NEW TO THIS DATEING STUFF I BEEN WITH THE FATHER OF MY CHILD FOR 4 YEARS .... JUNE 20 2011 HE WAS KILLD BECAUSE THEY THOUGHT HE WAS SOMEONE ELSE.... PAIN PAIN PAIN... ANYWAY ITS LIKE IM NEW TO DATEING AGAIN I DNT KNW WHERE TO START . IM AM A SINGLE MOM NOW AND I WORK FULL FULL FULL LOL TIME SO I REALLY DNT HAVE TIME TO LOOK FOR WHAT I WANT .. BEEN ON A FEW DATEING SITES THEY SEEM SO REAL BUT IM JUST SCARED ON GETTING SCAMMED
SO WHAT DO YALL THINK?

dfromspencer responded:
First, be wary of any on the job romances. Other than that, make, and keep yourself available for romance. You never know where you'll find it. Take your child to parks, many single men take their kids to the park. Eveeryone has to grocery shop, its possible to meet someone there. As for the dating sites, well, i have had little success with them.

One thing i would like to say, do not work so much, that you neglect to enjoy the little pleasures of raising your child. Being with him/her as much as possible is the key to a wonderful, lasting relationship between you. Just saying!

Hope this helps a little, good luck! Dennis

kisha252 replied to dfromspencer's response:
thanks so much for the advise dennis ... yeah im not going to work to hard my baby needs me .... and im just going to stop looking and let love find me........

Leslie Becker-Phelps, PhD replied to kisha252's response:
I am so sorry to hear about what happened to your child's father. It must continue to hurt you deeply. My first piece of advice is to make sure you are ready to date again. If you still struggle a lot, you might want to find a support group .