Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Tired
tonyanmark posted:
I am new to all of this, I have RA and AS. I have been on embrel, which didn't work out for me. I am in constant pain and finding a dr in my area that I like has been hard. The dr that put me on embrel was not a nice person and felt no empathy for me, so I am looking for a new dr. I am still trying to get over the its not fair part and trying to work and keep my house when all I want to do is stay in bed.
FirstPrevious12NextLast

LCover responded:
Hi Tonyanmark,

I was diagnosed last June with RA and I understand how frustrating all of this can be. Finding the right medication is a huge challenge especially when you know the side effects. Another challenge for me is finding information because I don't get very much from my doctor (my husband is ready to take the computer away from me! ) We have two RA docs in my area and I was almost ready to go out of state to get treatment.

Enbrel didn't work for me either...I felt horrible for the three weeks I was on it. I'm on Simponi now (since January) and it seems to be working much better.

It's frightening in the beginning but eventually I had to come to terms with it and realize...it is what it is and I don't have control over it. However, I do have control over my mindset and on how I want to treat it.

I also had a lot of people tell me to cut myself some slack. This is a tough diagnosis and you are just starting to learn about it. Give yourself a break...you need it after being diagnosed with such challenging diseases. This forum was helpful when I was feeling my worst. It helped talking to others who can relate and reading their stories. I hope you are able to find some solace in it too.

Take care of yourself, get rest and know that you will find the right doctor and meds to help you feel better.

Good luck to you,
LC

lsrs5356 replied to LCover's response:
Hi, Tonyanmark,