Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Leg Cramps Anyone?
ateecher posted:
Hi everyone,

I'm very new at this and so be patient with me. I found out I have RA about two weeks ago. Actually I went to see a nurse practitioner for help with fibromyalgia, which I've had for about 15 years. She did blood work and my C-Reactive protein was very high. She told me to see a Rheumatologist. I did, he did blood work. My rheumatoid factor was 1570, which I understand to be really high.

The doctor put me on predisone and I have a follow up appointment coming up. He also did an MRI of my lower back, which is not wonderful.

My question for all of you....do you get leg cramps? I have horrible foot, ankle, calf and thigh cramps. They are not just at night. I've tried increasing my water intake, taking calcium, with no help. Is this normal for RA? I'm not really seeing it as a "symptom". I also get cramps in my hands on occasion as well as my back and abdomen. How's that for being a mess? LOL

Please let me know your opinions. As I said, I'm very new at this. My Rheumatologist is a bit odd and I may have to switch, but I could use some advice now. Thanks to any and all who can help.

Caprice_WebMD_Staff responded:
Hi Ateecher,

I'm sure others will be responding re leg cramps and RA (and if you do some reading here, you'll find you're not alone in wondering about this). I do know that many with Fibromyalgia deal with cramps and find that magnesium added to that calcium can help. It's good you're keeping yourself hydrated as well.
We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us. ~Joseph Campbell

potterpot responded: