Skip to content
Who'd a thunk it? Eye opener.
singingbear posted:
Just wanted to share a thought that is turning over and over in my mind tonight. I am still new to RA and I have many many things yet to learn but my first lesson blows my mind. Before I was diagnosed and even long before my pain started I knew that RA was not like "regular" arthritis but I had no idea just how different it was. Even with my limited knowledge I still thought that RA effected older people and that it took years to effect mobility. Tonight my mind it stuck on how my physical abilities have changed in such a short time. I look at a picture of myself less then one year ago, legs crossed on the floor, baby niece on one knee and toddler nephew on the other. I distinctly remember being able to hold my niece on one shoulder while lifting myself from my position on the floor. Only days ago while holding my 8 mo old niece (different niece) in my recliner I was struck with the reality that I had to put her on the floor simply to lift myself out of the chair. I could not support her and myself at the same time. It is quite sobering to realize just how quickly RA hits and the hold it has on your body. Today just the thought of sitting on the floor is painful and sitting cross legged is out of the question. It is moments like this that I can understand how hard it is for friends and family to understand what I am going through. If it is hard for me to accept how quickly I have changed how can they possibly understand. While I want them to instantly understand when I say "I can't" I realize I have to be patient with them as well.

Does anyone else have a eye opening moment to share? I would love to hear them.

jaclee08 responded:
I was just recently diagnosed with RA after 3 months of pain,
and not knowing what was wrong with me? I too am amazed