Skip to content
lower back pain and RA - wrong diagnosis?
An_246348 posted:
Hi all,
I am new to this so please bare with me. I have been diagnosed with RA a little less than a year ago. I did or do not have the "textbook" symptoms. Mainly I had bad lower back pain with sciatica, etc. I have had low grade fevers for years and no one could tell me why. I always explained to the docs that I went to that I felt "flu-like". Years go by and still no diganosis other than issues with my lower back. I am currently wearing a brace for spondylolysis, which is a fancy name for a stress fracture. My Rheumatologist says he does not feel that my back problems are due to RA. Do others have experiences with RA diagnosis and lower back problems. Anybody have low grade fevers and flu-like symptoms? Are there any other conditions that could trigger a positive RA test? I am looking for some advise as I am not quite sure that I was diagnosed correctly.. Any advise would be greatly appreciated. Thank u in advance to all of you living with this. I am sure I will be on this alot.

xperky responded:
Hello. Isn't Spondylosis an auto-immune disease as well? From what I've been reading, it is a sort of inflammatory arthritis of the spine. I've also noticed that sometimes similar medicines are used to treat Ankylosing Spondylitis as RA. Have you had the hla-b27 gene test run? I ask because I'm doing research for myself about this disease.

I wonder if you have a combination of auto-immune diseases. Sometimes people have a few together. These things take time, don't they? It's so difficult to wait for clear results, while our bodies are telling us something is wrong.

I hope you get feeling better soon.

xperky replied to xperky's response:
Oh wait, I mispoke! There is a difference between Spondylosis and Ankylosing Spondylitis.

KayJaySue responded: