Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
a good pan when u have sore hands
bleeski posted:
I've found a "fry pan" @ Target which I find makes it easier on my achey wrists & hands.It has two grab handles rather than the one long one.Made by Calphalon, actually on sale this week.Just thought I'd pass that along in case anyone was interested.

xperky responded:
Thanks for the tip. Two handles are great. Lately, I've been so close to dropping my 3 qt CorningWare casserole when it's full and heavy. I'm used to wrapping my pinkies around for support, but they are weak now, along with weak wrists. I hate this disease!

bleeski replied to xperky's response:
You betcha.We have to look out for one another.I know what you mean about RA.I'm new to it and it certainly is challenging.

xperky replied to bleeski's response:
Bleeski, I am rather new to this as well. Just diagnosed a few months ago, although I've probably been struggling with it for about 3 years by now. Mine started in my lower back, then my feet, and now my hands, plus wrists, ankles, knees, hips, neck...It's like the RA decided to take over. The fatigue is overwhelming.

Where has yours started, and how did you find out you have it?

I keep trying to cook from scratch, but find so many things harder to do. I used to love to cook. Have you discovered a few tricks to make cooking and cleanup easier?

marzipana responded:
This is a great discussion! Pans with two handles are really smart. When I started having problems with my hands, I switched to Corelle for dishes and bowls. They are extremely lightweight and easy to handle.

OXO makes a lot of products that are easier on your hands. I really like their big V-shaped jar opener. Their vegetable peeler is also good. I also bought the electric "As Seen on TV" can opener that you place on top of the can and it goes around the can by itself. That one is a winner.