Skip to content
RA and Jealousy
An_250056 posted:

It is very hard to deal with the emotional affects of RA. On top of the medication, the side affects AND the chronic pain comes the anger and sadness over actually having the disease. I've had RA for 4 years now (I'm only 29 now) and I can tell you that everyday has been a struggle for different reasons all relating to the disease.
I cope with it by just throwing myself into my work and my hobbies. I still went to graduate school and got all A's still traveled to Europe and other places. I am a teacher and still work very hard- people are shocked that I have it. I love to read, write, excercise, watch old movies, bake, shop, fashion etc.
My biggest struggle is with the jealousy, I have a lot of great friends and a great family but I can't help feeling jealous of them because they can do so so many things that I cannot. If I see an older person walking up the steps I get angry and roll my eyes- I don't want to be like this but I do think it is normal. I don't think it's fair and I cry at least once a day due to pain or fatigue or nausea- something related to the RA.
I am just taking it one day at a time and doing the best I can do. I know that things can always be worse.
I want to know if other people feel this way? I would love to hear how others with RA deal with the chronic pain and jealousy for their loved ones who have no health concerns at all.
Since all my friends are very young and can do everything they have a hard time relating and I get upset because I get very jealous of them- it's not their fault. That's life.
Julia

LadyNerilka responded: