Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
newly diagnosed & loosing my insurance coverage
bettyboop71 posted:
I was on Medicaid but now I do not qualify since my daughter turned 19 yrs old. I have been diagnosed w RA & connective tissue disease for about a month, but I have had symptoms for yrs, just getting worse led me to get investigated further. I had testing done when my daughter was 4 & the doc told me that I had carpal tunnel & that is as far as that went since he gave me splints that made my wrists stiffer & told me to stop doing repetitive tasks. I worked in the food service industry at that time + having a small child I could not do that. over the yrs my symptoms have gotten worse & also my ankles have gotten bad, so bad wrists, ankles, fingers, shoulder, knees. the pain was so bad that I could not write or walk very well. my knees & shoulders are not severely affected just somewhat, but as for my feet, ankles, hands, wrists & fingers are severe. showing some signs of distortion. at 1st I went for treatment to a foot doc for my ankles, he made me special shoe inserts after taking xray only of 1 ankle. 1 yr later I was referred to a ortho surgeon for my wrists. a few tests later he referred me to a rheumatologist that has done test after test after test. finding that I have connective tissue disease & RA. I have seen him once a wk for 2 mos for testing & now treatment. now I have lost my Medicaid due to my disabled child turning 19 yrs old & me working 82 hours a month. I do not make enough to buy insurance, but can not qualify for Medicaid or anything such as a spend down program. I have thought about discontinuing my meds & treatment seeing the doc, but I am just now getting the pain & inflammation sort of under control.