Skip to content
foot and hand pain
maryc63 posted:
I'm new to this community, and would love to hear from others about dealing with the pain and how they are coping with it. I used to work full time as a nurse( on your feet all day) until 19 months ago and now I work 2 days. week. Have been diagnosed with fibromyalgia 9 years ago. Then In 2009 diagnosed with RA. Went through the med regime past humira and was on Ariva?? when I became very ill and ended up with life threatening blood clots in my lungs. After I recuperated from all that, I changed rheumatologist and he said I didn't have RA but polymyalgia rhuematica and put me on high doses of prednisone. 2 1/2 years later, now he has diagnosed me with RA and started me on plaquenal. Then the Methotrexate with it and still on prednisone. I'm off the plaquenal, down to 10mg pred.and have been restarted with mtx. after and infection I acquired. He's trying to wean me completely off the prednisone,which is fine by me! I have been only on the Methotrexate for 3-4 weeks, but am growing so impatient. I take Lortab for the pain, but it doesn't seem to help like it did for my fibro. If you share in the same type of foot pain, how do you cope? It takes at least 2 hours before I'm walking a little better (without a waddle),but some days it hardly helps at all(pain med). Since I only work 2 days a week,I feel guilty about calling in sick,so I don't. But walking is so painful! Shopping in a large grocery store can be accomplished by using one of their scooters, but what about the rest of the time? Waiting 2-3 months to see if mtx works, is wearing on me emotionally. I don't feel like doing anything when I'm home except keep off my feet. I do walk my puppy,though,so I am getting exercise. Just looking for some comments. Wish I could just stay home from work until a med starts working, but I need the paycheck, plus I'm afraid I would get layed off if I can't cover my position. Looking for any comments and ideas about pain relief s