Skip to content

Announcements

It's been suggested that we leave a space between the start of a post and the triggering part.

Write something innocuous in the first line. then leave some spaces between in and the subject matter. this should take care of accidentally triggering someone.

How and Why to Report a Post
Can You ever get away from SI?
jk5493 posted:
I'm a college student. I've had depression for more than half of my life and have been self injuring for most of that time as well - since I was 12, anyways.

It's like this addiction. This incessant need. When things go wrong, I get frantic. I know other people who struggle with SI must experience something similar. Does it ever go away? I've been in the hospital, gone through therapy countless times, learned tons of skills... but, nothing takes away the value on the SI. I guess it's my job to take the value away, but I can't. Any advice? I don't do it all of the time. I seem to go through phases. I just think that right now, entering into another depression episode again, it's going to be a big issue. It's already started and I'm scared but relieved. It numbs me. Makes that pain go away. That loneliness.

I know, just rambling. But, I can't help it. I just need someone to relate to.

- Jade

TheSullenGirl responded:
Hello - I also started SHing around 12-13. And would intermittently stop only to start up again. I was the worst in HS (everyday) and around 21 less often but more destructive.

I went into therapy in my early 20s, and I will not lie to you, but for me I actually SH/SI more during that time. However, afterwards I decided that I really wanted to stop. Part of it was having to let go of a family member that was toxic and that had caused a lot of anger/depression/etc to rise in me. The therapy helped me to find that out and helped to give me courage to go forth with telling that family member that they had hurt me and I could no longer be around them