Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

It's been suggested that we leave a space between the start of a post and the triggering part.

Write something innocuous in the first line. then leave some spaces between in and the subject matter. this should take care of accidentally triggering someone.

How and Why to Report a Post
Newbie here- It's baaaaack
rugger1369 posted:
I just came across this discussion board as I was reading some of the articles WebMD has to offer about self-harm. Most have a focus on adolescents, which makes it hard to relate to now. If I read them as a teen I might have come to solution by better understanding why I was/am doing this. I haven't done anything harmful since around 2008/9 and a few months ago had one incident and then again last night. Got into an argument of sorts over the phone and I have a terrible time communicating my feelings. It's almost as if my jaw locks up. In doing so, I have developed a new way of creating harm. I am running on 2.5hrs of sleep and simply drained. I want to curl up in a ball and cry all day. But alas, I am at work (ssshhhh). Something is wrong, I haven't been my spunky self in a few months now and it is taking a toll on my relationship with my bf of 2years. He is unaware of the episodes. I read that it could be signs of a borderline disorder and bipolar (along with others) but those two run in my family. I am scared and afraid that I am pushing him away, well he told me he feels that way. And that there is something wrong that I can't control and this is not a solution. I don't know where to turn, in my family, (just as the article illustrated) you don't share your feelings. You should be able to deal. And right now I am failing at it...any guidance would be very appreciated

Kate_Te responded:
Hi Rugger1369-

First of all, Welcome.