Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

It's been suggested that we leave a space between the start of a post and the triggering part.

Write something innocuous in the first line. then leave some spaces between in and the subject matter. this should take care of accidentally triggering someone.

How and Why to Report a Post
What to do in the summer?
StarStuff44 posted:
Hi. This is my first time posting here. I have been a cutter for 13 years, however I have not actively harmed myself in over a year and before that went 4 years without incident.

The times I have engaged in my SI behavior it was always to excess and I now have scars shoulder to hands on both arms, chest, stomach, and thigh to feet on both legs. The ones that I added a little over a year ago are still a bright pink, not faded at all. The weather is getting warmer now and I live in a very hot, humid place and I'm nervous about what to wear. I have children and they love going swimming and I get so self conscious about my scars because even when wearing short sleeves there are a hundred or more that can be seen. I don't want other parents to judge me and not allow their children to play with mine because I make them uncomfortable. I want more than anything to embrace my scars because they are a part of me that will always be there no matter how much I wish things were different but I'm just not sure how to navigate these summer situations.

Any suggestions on how any of you have handled the summers, other parents, or learning to be comfortable in your own skin would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you so much,
StarStuff

DOGDANCING_TCOS responded:
Welcome to the board, glad you found us.

Go to Ebay and search for "cooling arm sleeves" this is one option available to conceal scars without drawing undo attention.