Skip to content
Not fair to him
beautifulbuffalo posted:
I suffer depression and when I do I want nothing to do with sex. I don't even want my husband to touch me. Is there a way I can satisfy his needs without just giving in to make him happy while I hate it.
BB

georgiagail responded:
Get your depression adequately treated.

Gail

beautifulbuffalo replied to georgiagail's response:
My depressioin is being treated adequately. I have been suffereing from from depression for almost 20 years. My husband and I have been married for 29 years. He knows how I feel about sex. I wish it didn't exist. I want nothing to do with it.

dfromspencer replied to beautifulbuffalo's response:
Could it be, you may have an hormonal imbalance? Certain types of antidepressants can have a negative effect on hormones? When the natural hormones become effected by drugs, the feeling of wanting sex may go completely away? I have read this on this site, and other's. So many women say they take anti depressants and have lost their desire for sex. It has to be a hormonal thing?

I suggest you see your doctor, and tell her/him just how you feel. At least then, you can rule that possibility out, right? I hope you really don't feel that way about sex, and still want to stay married to a man who still does? That would not be fair to him, or you!!! You must have liked it at some point in your life? Maybe you can again? Also, maybe you could talk to a counselor, or something?

I wish you luck, but I wish your hubby even more!!!

Dennis

fcl responded:
HAve you always felt this way? Is it possible that you might simply be asexual? Could it be that your depression stems from being asexual and married? Just a thought ...
There's nothing inherently dirty about sex, but if you try real hard and use your imagination you can overcome that.

beautifulbuffalo replied to fcl's response: