Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
New here.... hoping that I am posting in the right place.
An_240624 posted:
I hope I an posting this in the right place, if not I am so sorry and please disregard. Newbie here with a problem. I am a 40 yr old female who has been happily married for 17 years. My husband and I have always had a wonderful sex life. When we were first married, I had problems trying to have an orgasm and in fact never had one. After a while in our marriage I started having them with penetration and masturbation. I absolutely love being with my husband and actually crave it. Here recently, I have been having problems having orgasms during sex.I can get it to that point but it just disappears We have added toys to help in that department but sometimes it is still difficult to achieve. The only thing that I can think of that changed is our sex lube. They no longer make the one that we used. We do have 2 children so I am not sure if it's the thought that they could walk in on us or if it's something from my self conscience that is blocking it for some reasons. We have many time when we have very nice foreplay sessions, other times are restricted. Even though I can't orgasm with my husband I can orgasm by masturbation alone. Is there anything that we can try to help? It is very frustrating to know I cannot enjoy this. I don't want my husband to think that it is him. I believe that he thinks he is at least part of the problem because he told me he was sorry.I told him he shouldn't be because it was me and not him. Thank you so much in advance.

alaska_mommy responded:
I think the psychological aspect of it is a big part in whether of not you can orgasm. I know for me if I am distracted or self-conscious for some reason it takes me much longer and much more stimulation is needed to orgasm. I also go through periods--a week or two sometimes---where I can't orgasm during intercourse. Usually the problem spontaneously resolves.