Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Newlywed sex issues
An_242156 posted:
Hello...this is my first time posting...but my husband and I need help.

This is our first year of marriage and we have had a lot of problems. We are very young, he is 20, and I am 19. While we were dating our sex drive was off the charts, now that we are married he feels regret after sex and doesn't want to do it often. It's not that its boring, we have tried so many different things. He says he does not even find the urge to pleasure himself. He says its not me, but I don't know whats going on or what to do.

Has anyone gone through this before?

It could all be emotional, he moved to another state away from friends, he doesn't even want to be married anymore. He doesnt understand how hard this is on me. HELP?!!

dfgbull responded:
Often, sex before you are married carries a rush of "forbidden fruit". After you get married it becomes not only ok but expected. Sometimes this adjustment is very difficult.

Also, the stress and changes of marriage can wreak havoc with emotions. I would suggest the two of you see a counselor to help you work through the issues and help find a solution.

An_242149 responded:
You are going to experience times like this throughout your entire life. There will be times when one doesn't want sex, times when you both do, and times when neither of you is interested in sex. It's all okay

rest2010 responded:
Trying 'different things' is a good sign of a desire to continue this part of your relationship, and you also expressed that he feels regret after sex. Regret for having had sex? or regret that he did not satisfy you or himself, or was there something else?
The ball is in his court. He admits you are not the problem, and that there may be a connection with having moved away from friends; but other friends can not affect his sex drive unless there were connections.
DO NOT EVEN BEGIN TO ASSUME THERE WAS INFIDELITY, AND THIS IS GUILT.