Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Useful Links!
Help Our Community Answer Your Questions Better By Including In Your Post: Gender, Have You Been Tested For An STD Yet?
Type Of STD Tests and Results? Any Medications To Control Your STD?

HSV -1 - two questions
Mikeonthefloor posted:
I tested positive for hsv-1 it was an IgG type specific with a # of 2.46

My question is what does the number mean other than it is positive?

My second questions is can a man catch HSV-1 by having oral performed on him and if yes, would it be genital or could it be oral or could it be either. Finally, if a person performs oral sex on a man and contracts hsv-1, would it be oral or could it be genital? Thank you

abe648 responded:
I am NOT a medical profesional but from what I have learned on this site is that you should bet a test again for HSV 1 in about 3 months. You most likely have HSV 1 but you are still below the number neded to confirm your status. You need to have a value of 4.00 or more to confirm that you are positive

When comes to HSV 1 by the time you reach 60 years of age or more approx 70% or more of people have HSV 1 so it is not a big deal.

If we take the positiom that you have HsV 1 orally then ue you could possibly transmit HSV 1 from your oral area to his genital area through you givving him oral sex. If he got it from you then he would have HSV 1 genitally. HSV 1 genitaly does not have a lot of ob's and so is not a real bother.

If he gives you oral and has HSV 1 orally then he could also have transmittted it to you genitally. As noted it does not have a lot of ob's. the strain of HSV does not change because of its location. If you have HSV 1 and give him oral and he gets HSV it will still be HSV 1 even though it is in the genital area.

I would urge both of you to get a type specific igg blood test to see what each of you have when it comes to herpes. It is always good to know you herpes status.