Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Useful Links!
Help Our Community Answer Your Questions Better By Including In Your Post: Gender, Have You Been Tested For An STD Yet?
Type Of STD Tests and Results? Any Medications To Control Your STD?

So Scared... Researched HSVII to death. Please Help
An_249451 posted:
Hi,
So about 3 years ago I had unprotected sex with my then boyfriend. A couple days later I got an aweful, thin, fishy smelling discharge. It was during a snow storm, so I freaked out and douched. I then noticed that my lymph node was swollen on one side of my neck and my legs started hurting. I am a nursing student so I have researched to death. I also suffer from chronic severe anxiety. I went to my provider and he diagnosed me with BV, gave me metrodiazole cream. It worked, then symptoms came back. All the while my legs are still hurting. I took 2 rounds of Metrodiazole by mouth and that cleared it up a whole year and a half later. Never had a sore or anything of the sort. I'm thinking because I douched I may have pushed the infection up. My providers all told me it's not HSVII. I've never had sores. Since nerve pain usually means an outbreak, I'm so confused. Recently, for some reason, I've started worrying about it constantly. So ofcourse every muscle in my body has started twitching and occassional shooting pain. I recently got a pap done (while my legs were hurting) and it came back normal. Someone educated please, please help.

CompletelyHelpless responded:
The twitching is all over my body, from my feet, to my face, legs, close to groin.... I also felt pressure on my abdomen at the time I had the discharge. I hope someone tells me I'm just being ridiculous.

georgiagail responded:
Consider getting tested. Perhaps the negative test result will help you put your anxiety over this behind you.

Gail

CompletelyHelpless replied to georgiagail's response: