Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Useful Links!
Help Our Community Answer Your Questions Better By Including In Your Post: Gender, Have You Been Tested For An STD Yet?
Type Of STD Tests and Results? Any Medications To Control Your STD?

Passing HSV 2 orally
An_252811 posted:
I am positive for HSV2 almost 20yrs and have started having tingling and numbness on my tongue and lip for a couple weeks but no outbreak. I haven't had cold sores for 10+years. If I don't have an outbreak, no way to know status of oral situation. Can I pass HSV 2 orally via kissing? My partner does not have HSV1or2. And should I pass HSV 2 orally, will my partner get HSV2 orally or genitally? 2 passes 2, right? 2 doesn't pass as 1? So confusing.

abe648 responded:
I am not a medical professional.

So if you have HSV 2 genitally and HSV 1 orally most likely you do not have both HSV 1 & 2 orally. You most likely have HSV 1 orally and HSV 2 genitally.

So if you give your partner oral sex then if he/she most likely would get HSV 1 genitally. Only approx 3% of people have HSV 2 orally and if they have HSV 1 orally if is highly unlikely that they would also have HSV 2 orally as well.

Like you say the only way to know for sure is to get tested. But that is not possible as you have no ob to swab/culture/type.
Abe ...I am not a medical professional. Read the Herpes Handbook, Watch the Video and Terri Warren's book is availible umder the Heading Herpes at http://www.westoverheights.com/

An_252811 replied to abe648's response:
I should have clarified - I tested positive for 2 and negative for 1. To know if I'm one of the 3% (lucky me) I will need to get a sore swabbed - frustrating since there are none. So, let's assume it's 2 orally - I know I could pass it thru oral genital sex. But can 2 be passed via just kissing? I think not if 2 only passes as 2 and 2 generally doesn't take up residence orally. Right? Again partner is negative 1/2. Thanks for you help.